One parent’s response to her child’s SATs homework

A supported shared this with us today…

My awesome friend’s letter to her child’s teacher today:

“Dear Mr …….,

Jacob and I had a look tonight at his SATS preparation exercises. We are both acutely aware that my child is prone to melodramatic responses but I am astounded by these exercises. Not only are they incomprehensible, badly constructed and so abstract in their nature that it renders them virtual gobbledygook, they are completely out of the bounds of possibility for any typically developing 6 or 7 year old to pass.

I am fully aware that Jacob is behind, but I think we both know he isn’t THIS far behind that he told me he is a ‘loser’ and I should ‘send him back to the baby shop’. We had tears (both of us) and I am unwilling for him to be subjected to this nonsense. I fully expect that to create problems, and in actual fact he is going to be at X with his father on the test dates whilst I am in hospital.

I can’t imagine this period is very easy for yourself, I know this specious Tory invention of a divide and rule system through constantly testing children too young to object, of data mining children into oblivion so as to find the quickest way to extract capital from their very marrow is not of your design, and know that I stand 100% in solidarity with you and your profession in the face of these attacks.

Children are children, and I will not have his mental health put on the line for a pie chart. He has been instructed that if he does have to sit the test then he will read the question and if he doesn’t understand what is being asked he is going to write things that he likes about himself, and what he enjoys doing and draw his fantastical design for a new robot, and I back him all the way.

There is no doubt in my mind you are a great teacher, my son is happy and thriving in your class, he tells me lots of great tales of school, I hope that you continue to inspire him and his peers.”

Full image here:

sats-letter

7 thoughts on “One parent’s response to her child’s SATs homework

  1. What a heart-rending letter and so true. What is this govt subjecting the young to and for what? What is the use of a society with no self belief – Tory masses fodder

    Like

  2. The more worrying thing is that her child can’t read words like answer, write, shapes or arrow and I would recommend her to get her child assessed by a professional. Also, how, at 39, has she managed to not to have heard of an arrow or chevron?

    Like

    • Luke P. I am 55 years old and have an honours degree but I did not recognise chevron and didn’t realise that the shape was an arrow (though I do know what an arrow is). I think you are being rather harsh. Most people over the age of 18 will forget anyway what isn’t relevant to their working lives or skill sets. I don’t get arrogant about people’s lack of knowledge in my subject area!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Apparently, what I recognised as a ‘chevron’ would be marked incorrect: it’s supposed to be an ‘irregular hexagon’ according to SATs standards (and which I’d not come across either). Which seems to underline how mad the whole thing is.
        I also suspect a system that teaches children to ‘decode sounds’ within words and penalises them for guessing according to context, makes it more likely that they won’t be able to figure out what an unfamiliar word ^means^ – so some children might well struggle with words that adults might find obvious.
        For example, “Write a calculation to find the answer to the question ‘What number is the difference between fifty-four and forty-seven?’ not only tests the maths (54-47 = ?) but tests comprehension of what seems to me to be a really vague sentence – certainly worthy of more than one mark..

        Liked by 2 people

  3. I feel the problem is children have no real idea how to to a test or how they work, apart from perhaps spelling tests. This is a maths paper but the way the questions are worded they are logic puzzles. In exam conditions the pupils can’t ask the teacher to explain.

    Whilst that shape looks like an arrow, it’s not a shape really is it? I’ve never heard of an irregular hexagon. Would have been fairer to use a trapezium or rhombus

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

