SAT testing in breach of UNICEF Convention on the Rights of the Child?

We posted yesterday about the possibility of SAT testing being in breach of our children’s human rights highlighting the following..

“The best interests of the child MUST be a TOP priority in all things that affect children” (UNICEF Convention on the Rights of the Child 1989, Article 3)

“Governments must protect children from work that is dangerous or harms their health or education”
(UNICEF Convention on the Rights of the Child 1989, Article 32)

If any human rights lawyers are out there reading this post please do get in touch via here – we’d love to know your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “SAT testing in breach of UNICEF Convention on the Rights of the Child?”

  1. I have always felt that we breach human rights of the child in the UK, I believe article 7 states that children have the right to play.

  2. I have long felt that there was an abuse of human rights here. I feel as a teacher that I am part of an abusive system. Worse, now that there are so many unscrupulous heads in charge of Academies, I feel that the teachers are more vulnerable to abuse than ever before.

    I was on Prozac for 8 months a few years ago as a result of bullying. Colleagues were driven to tablets and / or suicide attempts. It all centred on ‘attainment targets’. Last week I watched a 7 year old boy sobbing, “I DON’T KNOW THIS WORD!!! I’m GOING TO FAIL!!!” in a practice Reading test. After which, I held and comforted his young teacher as she sobbed, “I can’t DO this to them! Why do we do this??”

    Time to stop the nonsense.

Leave a comment